What is that you do, Muay Thai?

Check out this true story:

So, as I walk around the gym in my Thai shorts, a fellow gym member approaches me and he asks…

“So what is it you do again, a lotta kicks right”?
Followed by.

“Ouch that must hurt, your shins must be made of steel.”

I answer: Well, they’re not steel, but they are all banged up.”

Then, I attempt to explain that we do not just pointlessly kick each other in the shins.

So, to clear up a couple misconceptions, I will answer a few more questions that I get on a regular basis:

*Do you kick trees or steel posts?

I’ve been training 12 years and I only kick pads, bags and people. Although, there are some crazier than I that will kick just about anything.

*Don’t I need to be in shape before I start training Muay Thai?

No. You start training to get in shape, then Muay Thai keeps you in shape. Plus cardio. Always cardio but you can do both.

*Do I have to fight?

Only if you want. There are plenty of people who train just to stay in shape. There are also people who never thought they could fight, then they surprise themselves and step up to the challenge. It’s completely up to you.

So, let me round back to the first question.

*So, it’s just a lotta kicks right?

Muay Thai is the Art of 8 limbs. We have 8 weapons. Punches, kicks, elbows and knees. And of course, the clinch or neck wrestling. I could cover several issues on the clinch.

If you have any questions about Muay Thai, fighting or fitness, feel free to email anytime. It would be my pleasure to respond.

And now my question to you…

If you have not tried Muay Thai, what are you waiting for?

2 thoughts on “What is that you do, Muay Thai?

  1. Fight Quality

    “Don’t I need to be in shape before I start training Muay Thai?”
    We’ve definitely heard this one far too many times, even known people to quit so they can “get fit before trying again” (and then simply dissappear). Truth is, the best way to get fit for Muay Thai is by doing Muay Thai.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

