A General Misconception About Fighting Part II

brucelee for misconception blogAllow me to lead into this blog with this awesome quote from Bruce Lee. I thought it quite fitting, plus Bruce is the MAN!
So, if you have not read “A General Misconception about Fighting Part 1”, what are you waiting for? It will be worth the read.
If you are not so inclined, here is a recap.
  • There is a big misconception out there that fighting is just two guys beating each other to a pulp.
  • For some people, myself included,  fighting involves training and competing in martial arts such as Muay Thai, mixed martial arts (MMA), Kung Fu, BJJ, boxing….the list goes on.
You see, fighters have a passion for what they do. It is similar to a painter or an artist. The ring is our canvas, the mat is our drawing board. And the competition…
Well, the competition is a fighter’s outlet. It is our self-expression.
My belief is that fighting, in the right form, keeps a person physically and mentally healthy. It allows them to be in harmony with themselves and those around them.
I know this to be true because I have experienced the change myself.
Through the art of fighting, I have experienced many positive changes in my life. Fighting has taught me that no matter how hard things get or how much pain you’re in, never give up; keep pushing forward. You can control your own destiny.
Fighting has pushed me in ways I would have never imagined.  It has taken me to my limits and beyond, both mentally and physically.
I believe fighting can have a positive impact on people’s lives. It is the reason I continue to spread my message.
But how did this idea come about anyway?
The idea came during a time that I was fighting through some of my own demons. I was at a low point and close to giving up.
But then it hit me as I was bummed and sitting on the train on my commute home from work:. “Life is Hard. Fighting is Easy.” So simple, so true.
Sometimes, inspiration comes to you at your lowest points. I now realize that the mind works best when put in tough situations.
But, why is Fighting Easy?
Fighting is Easy is a bold statement,   I know.  But let’s take a look at LIFE.
Life poses many challenges.  Poor health, poverty, taxes, jobs, traffic, people (getting on your nerves…).  The list goes on. Many of these things we can’t control.
They are irritating, infuriating, they drive people to alcohol, drugs, overeating and violence, which I consider different from fighting.
On a side note, most fighters avoid these vices because he (or she) knows it will not help towards their ultimate goal.
 
Now, Fighting, as I see it, is something that you can control. When you face off with your opponent, all those life troubles fade away.
You know all you have to do is fight. That’s it. It’s simple. You control what happens (in the ring) and it ends in victory or defeat.
My last point, before I wrap this up, is that people fight everyday without even realizing it.
When you see a political debate on TV, it is nothing more than a fight with words. In business, there is a continuous fight to stay ahead of the competition.
People fight depression, disease and other physical and mental illnesses.
In history, the people who have fought the hardest for what they believe are the people we respect the most. Martin Luther King. Jr., comes to mind.
If you’ve made it this far, thank you for reading. So, then let me end with this.
If you are dedicated to what you believe in, you will fight for it and this fight becomes easy. In the end, we are all Fighters. End.

Leave a comment